The Kingdom

Ladies and Gentlemen, Sometimes you find yourself uninspired, and let me tell you from experience…it is awful.

Each drawing starts with a couple little marks...

Each drawing starts with a couple little marks…

I hadn’t been artistically productive in a month, a WHOLE month! Not intentionally, but I would walk into my studio, and stare at a blank sheet of paper with absolutely nothing. Not wanting to waste perfectly good (and expensive) art supplies, I’d make a 180, and high tail it out of there.

IMG_3213

As an artist, there are days when you need to walk away, and then there are days when you need to bite the bullet. So today, after several personal “pep-talks,” and promises of coffee as a reward, I strove to create something, anything. I needed to start creating again (after all, that is part of the blog’s name).

IMG_3215

I thought I’d pick a scene to paint that would be applicable to what I’ve been posting recently. So, I scanned through some images I took during my trip to Australia back in 2010, and found one of my favorite views. In fact, my next HUA post will involve this particular scene.

IMG_3216

It is the view from my apartment on Australia’s Gold Coast.

Each morning I would watch as the sun rose over the pacific, kissing the trees and buildings with it’s warmth. It’s a truly fond memory. The apartment had plenty of dishes and flatware but no regular mugs, only soup mugs; I’d make a big cup of instant coffee in one of the glorified bowls, and sip it slowly before class.

Finally adding some color.

Finally adding some color.

Looking out over the balcony, I always felt like it was my own little kingdom. Maybe it really was, relatively speaking. Who’s to say it wasn’t? A piece of paper? A crown? That place, in the morning, belonged to me.

IMG_3219

The reminder of these peaceful mornings was something I’ve always wanted to visually document. And now, I can share it with all of you! In fact, for a mere $80.00 I will literally give it to you.

Detail of finished product

Detail of finished product

Final Product, The Kingdom. Approx: 15x11 inches. Watercolor and pen

Final Product, The Kingdom. Approx: 15 x 11 inches. Watercolor and pen

I hope this particular painting reminds you of your special place.

Stay plugged in! I’ll be posting again, and feel free to contact me if you’re interested in purchasing any of my work.

Ange

P.S. I suppose this is as good a time as any to let you know I’ll be returning to Australia on August 1st! Hoorah, for fresh adventures & artistic inspiration.

 

About adecamp1261

I am an artist and traveler!
This entry was posted in Artistry, Travels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Kingdom

  1. Andrea Leber says:

    Oh, beautiful, you’re so talented! August is a great time to come back to Oz, after the worst of winter is over 🙂

  2. Beautiful! I’m trying to do a watercolor and pen drawing but I wasn’t sure what to hatch and what not to hatch… I think I can now use your drawing as a guideline! Thank you!

  3. tedgiffin says:

    Wow these are stunning and gorgeous! I know what it is like to be intimidated by a blank sheet of paper. Also being tentative with my marks, using really light pencils, afraid to make a visible impression on the page. Tho tonight I went haywire with it, had to ” to hell with it attitude” and I made dark scribbly lines that carved into the paper. I did not try to hide what I had done. Anyway, pat yourself on the back with coffee, and remember that even Master Artists have periods of inactivity.. from an internet stranger named ted

Leave a comment