Making Art is Always Worth it

It had really been too long since I’d picked up a brush, and put it to paper. Unforgivably long? Maybe.

For whatever reason I found motivation to try again.

I’m glad I did.

I mean, I purchased this awesome Windsor Newton travel watercolor set for a reason. Right?

IMG_5009

So I set up my temporary workshop on the kitchen table and went to town.

IMG_5017

My goal with these pieces was to just get back into moving a brush across paper. I wasn’t really trying to say anything deep. I was just trying to do something to reaffirm my existence as an artist.

I’m not just a traveller; I’m a creator, and that aspect of myself had been neglected until recently.

Painting these scenes, was the equivalent of writing an apology to my inner Georgia O’Keefe, and let me tell you Georgie pie was NOT HAPPY.

IMG_5010

Until she saw how great they were turning out!

IMG_5012

 

Ah yes, I lost track of time layering reds and oranges to create the dusty rust colored roads of the Australian Outback. It was cathartic; shoot, it was practically medicinal.

IMG_5028

I ended up pretty pleased with the result. Making art is always worth it.

Ange

About adecamp1261

I am an artist and traveler!
This entry was posted in Artistry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making Art is Always Worth it

  1. isabella says:

    These are such beautiful paintings; I love the compositions and the pretty colors you chose!! 🙂
    Keep up the great work!
    XOXO,
    Isabella

Leave a comment